The Chair’s Award is presented by the current chairperson of the Board to recognize outstanding contributions to the Association.

Nominations for the Chair’s Award are made by the President and the Board of Directors of the TCIA. The recipient is honored at TCIA’s annual Winter Management Conference.

2020 Winner is Peter Sortwell

The following is the text of Alan Jones’presentation of the Chair’s Award at the Winter Management Conference in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, in February.

Each year, the TCIA Chair has the privilege of recognizing a member of our industry who gives considerable time and energy to our industry. We’re now going to play a video that tells you a little bit more about the award and this year’s recipient.

Peter, it has been unbelievable to share so many great memories with you, to learn from you, and to witness your commitment to this industry. Will you please join me on the stage to receive this year’s Chair’s Award?

Past winners

  • 2017 Bill Weber
  • 2016 Walter Money
  • 2015 Peter Becker
  • 2014 Chris Frank
  • 2013 Howard Eckel
  • 2012 Mark Garvin
  • 2011 Terrill Collier
  • 2010 Tony Gann
  • 2009 Dr. Michael Raupp
  • 2008 Bob Rouse
  • 2007 Dave Zerfoss
  • 2006 Penny Judd
  • 2005 Cynthia Mills
  • 2004 Jerry Morey
  • 2003 Tom Tolkacz
  • 2002 NAA Staff
  • 2001 Robert A. Bartlett, Jr.
  • 2000 Pat Felix and Peter Gerstenberger
  • 1998 50-Year Member Companies: Alpine the Care of Trees, Inc.; Forest City Tree Protection Co., Inc.; Gustin Gardens Tree Service, Inc.; H. A. Morrison, Arborist; Ira Wickes / Arborists; K. P. Soergel & Associates, Inc.; Neville Landscape & Tree Service; Swingle Tree Company; Walgren Tree Experts, Inc.
  • 1997 Peter Sortwell
  • 1996 NAA Board
  • 1995 Rusty Girouard
  • 1994 NAA Staff