Pat Felix Volunteer of the Year Award

The Pat Felix Volunteer of the Year Award is named after an industry leader who, along with her husband Bob, helped run this Association without any staff – just volunteers. Since the retirement of Pat Felix in 2001, TCIA has helped carry on her legacy of hard work and dedication with this Award, which is presented annually to a TCIA member volunteer who has gone above and beyond the call of duty as a volunteer.

Nominations for the Pat Felix Volunteer of the Year Award are made by the President and the Board of Directors of the TCIA. The recipient(s) are honored at TCIA’s annual Winter Management Conference.

2023 Winner – Dennis Beam

Past winners

  • 2023 Dennis Beam
  • 2022 Bob Mead
  • 2021 Larry Abernathy
  • 2020 Tim Bushnell
  • 2019 Pat Felix – OSHA Demonstration Team
    • From RTEC Tree Care: Andy Ross, CTSP; Rick Sephton, CTSP; Jim Osborn, CTSP; Samantha Huff; and Monika Rivero
    • From Good’s Tree Care: Bob Good and Mitchell Good, QCL
    • From Woodline Tree Care: Brad Hughes, CTSP
  • 2015 Dave Scharfenberger
  • 2014 Peter Becker
  • 2013 Sandy Clark
  • 2012 Ron Keith, Arbor Master Tree & Lawn
  • 2011 Joe Bones, Bartlett, and Dane Buell, SavATree
  • 2010 Greg Ina, Davey Tree
  • 2009Tim Johnson
  • 2008 Mark Shipp, Ogilvy, Hill
  • 2007 Lyle  Feilmeier, Collier Arbor Care
  • 2006 Paul Markworth, Wachtel
  • 2005 CTSP Task Force: Steve Chisholm, TCIA Safety Committee Chair and President of Aspen Tree Expert Company in Jackson, NJ; Paul Cyr, Retired OSHA official in the US Department of Labor; and a long-time friend of the tree care industry; Dr. John Ball from South Dakota State University; one of our  industry’s renowned safety researchers; Lyle Feilmeier, Manager at Collier Arbor Care in Clackamas, OR; Keith Sheriff, Director of Safety, Education, Training from Wright Tree Service in Des Moines, IA; Erich Schneider, President, Schneider Tree Service in Taylors, SC
  • 2004 Accreditation Council: Michael Galvin, Andy Ross, Anne Baldwin, Eugene Critter, Fred Johnson, Joe Engberg, and John Ball
  • 2003 Joe Tommasi
  • 2002 David G. Marren
  • 2001 George Klinger